5th Annual High School Model United Nations Conference

The 2017 conference will be held on Saturday, October 28st, 2017 at the California State University, Monterey Bay.


  • General Assembly Second Committee (ECOFIN): Implementation of the Convention on Biological Diversity
  • Historical Security Council of 1993: The Situation in Rwanda
  • Human Rights Council: Humans Rights, Sexual Orientation, and Gender Identity

Conference Day Schedule:

8:30 amRegistrationBusiness School Atrium
9:00 amKeynote AddressBusiness School Auditorium (BT 104)
9:30 amSession IClassrooms TBD
11:45 pmLunchBusiness School Atrium
12:30 pmSession IIClassrooms TBD
3:00 pmCommittee Briefing and Awards CeremonyBuisness School Auditorium (BT 104)

2016 Participating High Schools:

  • Bellarmine College Preparatory
  • Carmel High School
  • Monterey High School
  • York School
  • Santa Catalina School
  • Stevenson School 

2016 Position Paper Award Winners:

  • General Assembly
    • Greece: Rohan Bhushan and Braeden Lueken, Monterey High School
    • United Arab Emirates: Hashini Weerasekera and Jane Shim, Santa Catalina School
  • Security Council
    • Malaysia: Jane Shim and Orlinka Mitoko-Kereere, Santa Catalina School
    • Venezuela: Ben Ha, Bellarmine College Preparatory
  • Economic and Social Council
    • China: Ryan Lin and Ivan Davidek, Carmel High School
    • Ireland: Nathan Torre and Ronan McCarthy, Monterey High School
    • Japan: Mason Moritz and Jasmine Miller, Monterey High School

2016 Outstanding Representation Award Winners:

  • General Assembly
    • China: Ching Chen, Monterey High School
    • Syria: Alex Harding Bradley, Bellarmine College Preparatory
    • United States: Benjamin Gersten and Wilson Wiess, Stevenson School
  • Security Council
    • Angola: David Sanchez, Monterey High School
    • Russia: Jack Connolly and David Cordier, Carmel High School
    • United States: SriRaam Methalia, Bellarmine College Preparatory
  • Economic and Social Council
    • Canada: James MacKinnon, Bellarmine College Preparatory
    • Japan: Mason Moritz and Jasmine Miller, Monterey High School
    • Switzerland: Akshaj Dwivedula, Bellarmine College Preparatory

Important Dates:

  • Registration Due: Monday, September 11
  • Country/Committee Wishlists Due: Friday, September 15
  • Student Photo Waiver and Liability Releases Due: Friday, September 15
  • Payment Due: Friday, September 15
  • Position Papers Due: Friday, October 20

Can't access the form?  Click here for a printable version of the registration form that you may scan or fax back to the Lyceum.

NEW: If your son or daughter is home-schooled, or if their school is not participating in this year's Model United Nations conference, they may participate independently in the conference through the Lyceum's Model United Nations enrichment class.

Conference Materials For 2017

Please see page 2 of the Welcome Letter attachment for driving directions.  Please click here for our award policy.

Please contact the Lyceum program coordinator, Ellen Olack, at ellen@lyceum.org with any questions.